Board of Education


Composed of nine members, Board members serve a four-year term with three districts elected at-large and six elected by district. The Board is the official governing body of the Barrow County School System. Meetings are typically held the first Tuesday of each month beginning at 6:00 PM in the Board Room of the  Professional Development Center Building located at 179 West Athens Street in Winder.


To request to appear before the Barrow County Board of Education a form must be filled out completely and submitted to the Superintendent's Office no later than 12 noon on the Friday before the regularly scheduled Board of Education Meeting which is held every first Tuesday of each month (except April and July).



Barrow County Board of Education Strategic Goals


To "ensure an exceptional education that leads each student to become a high achieving and responsible citizen", the Barrow County Board of Education has adopted these strategic goals for the Barrow County School System:


  • Engaging All Stakeholders
  • Ensuring High Academic Achievement for All Students


Michael Shelley, Mark Still, Rickey Bailey
Garey Huff Sr., Dr. Chris McMichael, Connie Wehunt
Rolando Alvarez, Debi Krause, Lynn Stevens, Suzanne Angle


Meeting Dates

Meeting Podcasts

Member Zones

Policy Manual